Symphony No. 34 in C Major

By Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Wolfgang on his hometown:
“Salzburg is no place for me.”

On its residents:
“One can’t have any proper social intercourse with those people.”

On the court musicians for whom he composed:
“Coarse, slovenly, dissolute…”

On his employer, Hieronymus Colleredo (Prince Archbishop of Salzburg):
“[He] glorifies himself through his dependents, robs them of the service and pays them nothing for it!”

Tonight’s symphony was the last Mozart was to write in Salzburg. It’s a happy piece.

      1st Movement

      2nd Movement

      3rd Movement

      4th Movement