The Carmen Suites are two suites of orchestral music drawn from the music of Georges Bizet’s 1875 opera Carmen and compiled posthumously by his friend Ernest Guiraud. They adhere very closely to Bizet’s orchestration.

Guiraud also wrote the recitatives for Carmen, and compiled the second of the two suites from Bizet’s L’Arlésienne incidental music.Prélude – Act I, prelude (fate motive)
Aragonaise – Interlude (entr’acte) before act 4
Intermezzo – Interlude (entr’acte) before act 3
Séguedille – Act 1, Carmen: “Près des remparts de Séville”
Les Dragons d’Alcala – Interlude (entr’acte) before act 2
Les Toréadors – Theme from prelude to act 1 and Procession of the Toreadors from act 4: “Les voici! voici la quadrille des Toreros!”.

Carmen Suite No. 1
By Georges Bizet
Arranged by Ernest Guiraud
Composed in 1875

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This